College Council

Scotch College is incorporated under the provisions of the Uniting Church in Australia Act 1976 (WA). Our Council is responsible for the overall governance of Scotch College and appoints the Headmaster to take responsibility for the leadership and operation of our College. Members of Council are appointed by the WA Synod of the Uniting Church in Australia on the recommendation of the Scotch College Council.

Council members provide a broad range of corporate skills and experience at a senior level including financial, governance, educational, legal, planning, and technical. They include members of Old Scotch Collegians, parents of current or former students at the College, Uniting Church members and others in the broader community who are willing to offer their time and expertise while supporting the ethos and values of the College.


Mr Tim Wiese

Chair of Council and Chair of Finance & Planning Board (1 January 2023)

Qualifications: BSc (Agr) (Hons) (UWA)

Experience: Farmer; Deputy President, Shire of Narrogin; Old Scotch Collegian; past Scotch Parent

Areas of specialty: Governance, Staff, OHS, Budgeting, Planning, Succession Issues and Logistics


Mr Alan Murray

Deputy Chair of Council and Member Finance & Planning Board (1 January 2023), Chair of Risk Committee (1 January 2016)

Qualifications: BJuris LLB (UWA)

Experience: Lawyer & Partner, King & Wood Mallesons (retired); Old Scotch Collegian; past Scotch Parent

Areas of specialty: Corporate and Resources Law


Prof Simon Anderson

Council Member, Chair of Master Plan Committee, Risk Committee (1 January 2017)

Qualifications: B Arch Syd, BSc BA W. Aust, LFRAIA

Experience: Faculty of Architecture, Landscape and Visual Arts, University of Western Australia; Old Scotch Collegian; past Scotch Parent

Areas of specialty: Academia, Architecture, Landscape and Visual Arts


Mr Roy Kelley OAM

Council Member (1 January 2020)

Qualifications: Masters in Educational Management (UWA), Dip. Ed., B.Arts (UWA)

Experience: Headmaster, Melbourne Grammar School (2009–19); Headmaster, King's College (NZ) (2003–09); Deputy Headmaster, Hale School (1991–2002)

Areas of speciality: Education and Management


Mrs Martina Crowley

Council Member, Risk Committee (1 January 2021)

Qualifications: CA (ANZ)

Experience: National Leader of PwC Private; Member of PwC Australia Executive Board; Member of PwC Global Private Leadership Team; Member of Chief Executive Women; past Scotch Parent

Areas of speciality: Tax, Accounting and Risk


Ms Naomi Flutter

Council Member (16 June 2021), Deputy Chair, Finance and Planning Board (15 February 2023), Foundation Board (Council Representative) 12 May 2022

Qualifications: MPP (Harvard), LLB (Hons) (ANU), BEc (Hons) (ANU), GDLP (ANU)

Experience: Executive General Manager, Corporate Affairs, Wesfarmers; Pro-Chancellor, Australian National University; Scotch Parent

Area of specialty: Corporate Public Affairs, Business, Finance


Rev Stephen Francis

Council Member (11 October 2021)

Qualifications: BArts, DipTheol

Experience: Mining Industry; Youth Worker; Parish Minister; ex-Moderator, Uniting Church WA Synod

Area of specialty: Church Schools Governance


Professor Harlene Hayne CNZM

Council Member (1 January 2022)

Qualifications: PhD (Rutgers) HonDSc (Colorado College) HonLLD (Otago) FRSNZ

Experience: Vice-Chancellor, Curtin University: Vice-Chancellor & Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research & Enterprise, Professor of Psychology, Otago University; Honorary Governor, American Chamber of Commerce in Australia (AmCham); Director, Western Australian Health Translation Network (WAHTN) Executive Board; Chair, Advisory Board, National Centre for Student Equity in Higher Education; Member, Board of the Australian-American Fulbright Commission; Member, Equity in Higher Education Panel

Area of specialty: University Administration, Memory Development and Adolescent Risk-Taking Research


Mr Aaron Hood

Council Member, Finance and Planning Board (1 January 2023)

Qualifications: BEng (UWA), BCom (UWA) and MBA (INSEAD), Graduate Stanford Executive Program, GAICD

Experience: Chief Operating Officer of Wesfarmers Chemicals, Energy & Fertilisers, Director of Covalent Lithium. Former Executive General Manager of Business Development, Wesfarmers and CFO, WesCEF; Member of Scotch College (WA) Foundation Inc Board and Investment Committee. Old Scotch Collegian; current Scotch College parent

Area of specialty: Commercial, finance and strategy, Scotch Rowing


Mr Ben Bartholomaeus

Council Member, Finance and Planning Board (1 January 2023)

Qualifications: LLB (UWA), BCom (UWA), GCert AppFin, GAICD

Experience: CEO, DR Capital Pty Ltd; Old Scotch Collegian, current Scotch College parent

Area of specialty: Business, finance, management, law


Mr Ben Macnamara

Council Member (1 January 2024)

Qualifications: BCom (ECU), CA (ANZ)

Experience: Chief Executive Officer of CBH Group; Board Member Business Council of Co-Operative and Mutuals (BCCM); Board Member UWA Business School; Old Scotch Collegian; current Scotch College parent.

Area of specialty: Business, Finance (Tax, Accounting & Risk), Management, Law, Commercial, Strategy, Corporate Public Affairs, Governance, Budgeting, Planning, Logistics.